Hunter Safety Course Requirements by State: Who Needs It
Who must complete hunter education before buying a license in each of the 50 states, whether the course can be done online, and how to hunt before you are certified, from each state wildlife agency.
Birth-date cutoff
28 states
First license, any age
15 states
Three kinds of rules
- Birth-date cutoff (28 states): if you were born on or after a set date, you need the course before buying a license. Hunters born earlier do not. The dates run from 1949 to 1986.
- First license (15 states): California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia require the course, or proof of an earlier license, to buy a first license at any age.
- Age-based (6 states): the course is required only for certain ages. Arizona: 10 through 13 for big game. South Dakota: 12 through 15. Oregon and New Mexico: under 18. Nebraska: 12 through 29. Oklahoma: 30 and younger.
- Alaska ties the requirement to the hunt area: hunters born after Jan. 1, 1986 need it only where the area requires it, and it is not needed to buy a license.
Birth-date cutoffs, oldest first
| State | Who needs hunter education |
|---|---|
| Colorado | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, before applying for or buying a license. |
| Kansas | Born on or after July 1, 1957. |
| Michigan | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1960, unless you show a previous hunting license. |
| Nevada | Born after Jan. 1, 1960. |
| Georgia | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1961, before buying a season license. |
| North Dakota | Born after 1961, before getting a firearm or bow license. |
| Utah | Born after Dec. 31, 1965, to buy a license. |
| Wyoming | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1966, to hunt with a firearm. Hunters born earlier need it in Grand Teton National Park and the National Elk Refuge. |
| Delaware | Born after Jan. 1, 1967. |
| Missouri | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1967, to hunt during a firearms season or to act as an adult mentor. |
| Arkansas | Born after 1968. |
| Tennessee | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1969. |
| Louisiana | Born on or after Sept. 1, 1969, unless hunting under direct supervision of a qualified hunter. |
| Texas | Born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, including nonresidents. |
| Iowa | Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before buying a license. |
| Mississippi | Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before buying a license. |
| Washington | Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before a first Washington license. |
| Wisconsin | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1973, before buying any license. |
| Idaho | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, to buy a license. |
| Kentucky | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975. |
| West Virginia | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, before buying a base license. |
| Florida | Born on or after June 1, 1975, to buy a license to hunt with firearms, muzzleloaders, bows or crossbows. |
| Alabama | Born on or after Aug. 1, 1977. Required at license-buying age, 16. |
| South Carolina | Born after June 30, 1979, residents and nonresidents. |
| Illinois | Born on or after Jan. 1, 1980, unless you can show a prior Illinois hunting license. |
| Minnesota | Born after Dec. 31, 1979, to buy a hunting license. |
| Montana | Born after Jan. 1, 1985, to buy or apply for a license. |
| Alaska | Born after Jan. 1, 1986, when hunting an area that requires hunter education. Some areas, such as military installations, require it at any age. |
| Indiana | Born after Dec. 31, 1986, before buying a license. |
Can you take hunter safety online?
Most states offer an online course, but many still require an in-person part to certify. Grouped by what each agency states:
- Fully online: Arizona, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, New Mexico, North Carolina and South Carolina. In Arizona and Georgia the online-only option is for state residents.
- Fully online for some ages:
- Colorado: Only the online test-out, for ages 50 and older and eligible military ($34.95, 90% to pass).
- Iowa: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course.
- Kansas: Adults 18 and older can take the free NRA online-only course.
- Louisiana: Ages 16 and older can certify fully online ($34.95, $49.95, or free through the NRA).
- Maine: Students 16 and older can complete the course online ($29.95), with an optional in-person skills session.
- Minnesota: Adults can take an online course with a virtual field day, or a classroom or hybrid class.
- Mississippi: Residents 12 and older can complete the full course online ($34.95).
- Missouri: Residents 16 and older can complete the entire program online ($24.95 or $39.95).
- Montana: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course.
- Nebraska: Ages 16 and older can certify online ($39.50 or $40).
- Nevada: Adults 18 and older can certify online.
- South Dakota: Ages 16 and older are certified after the online course ($24.95, $49.95 or free NRA).
- Texas: Hunters 17 and older may take the course in person or online.
- Vermont: Vermont residents 18 and older can take hunter and bowhunter education online.
- Wisconsin: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course.
- In-person part required: Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. These states end every course with a field day, skills session, testing or class in person. Wyoming states it has never offered online-only certification, and Connecticut does not accept online certificates.
- Not stated by the agency: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Virginia. The agency pages list online courses without saying whether an in-person part is needed, so check with the state before you pay for one.
Hunting before you are certified
35 states have a way to hunt before taking the course. Names and limits differ:
- Apprentice licenses: a license you can buy a limited number of times without the course, hunting with a licensed mentor. Maine allows up to 5, Indiana 3 in a lifetime, Iowa, Kansas and Michigan two, and New Hampshire one.
- One-time deferrals: Texas (17 and older, $10), Washington (one year, once in a lifetime) and Kentucky (one-year exemption permit, once).
- Mentor programs: Wisconsin's Mentored Hunting Law (within arm's reach of a mentor), Wyoming's free Hunter Education Temporary Exception and Colorado's free one-year Apprentice Hunter Certificate.
- Supervised hunting: Louisiana lets uncertified hunters hunt under direct supervision of a qualified hunter, and Alabama sells a "supervision required" license for hunting within 30 feet of a licensed hunter 21 or older.
For the other states, the agency pages checked list no such option. California's only alternative to the class is an equivalency test at a CDFW office.
Military and law enforcement
- Exempt: Alabama (active duty military, Alabama National Guard, Alabama-certified officers), Oklahoma (active duty or honorably discharged military, National Guard), Rhode Island (current or honorably discharged military), Texas (active duty and honorably discharged veterans, certain Texas Guard members and peace officers) and Wyoming (active and honorably discharged military, active or retired Wyoming peace officers).
- Louisiana: a Louisiana-only exemption for active or veteran military and POST-certified officers, by application.
- Shortcuts, not exemptions: Colorado's online test-out for eligible military, Maryland's field day waiver and Washington's field skills waiver.
- Not exempt: Florida and Alaska state that military status does not exempt you.
Separate bowhunter education
Connecticut, Nebraska, Rhode Island and Vermont require a bowhunter course in addition to, or instead of, the firearms course for some archery hunting. Nebraska requires it for deer, antelope, elk and bighorn sheep with a bow or crossbow. South Dakota no longer requires bowhunter education.
Hunter education requirements by state
| State | Who needs it | Online |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama |
Born on or after Aug. 1, 1977. Required at license-buying age, 16. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free in-person course of at least 8 hours, or one of the approved third-party online courses (NRAHE free, others $19.99 to $49.95). The agency page does not mention a field day. Before certifying: A "supervision required" license: hunt within normal voice control, no more than 30 feet, of a licensed hunter 21 or older. Exempt: Alabama-certified law enforcement officers, active duty U.S. military and active members of the Alabama National Guard. Courses start at age 10. All other states' certificates are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Alaska |
Born after Jan. 1, 1986, when hunting an area that requires hunter education. Some areas, such as military installations, require it at any age. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online course ($19.95) followed by an in-person field day. Hunter education is not needed to buy a license or apply for permits. It applies only in the hunt areas that require it. No minimum age. Active military status and concealed carry permits do not exempt you. Certificates from other states, provinces and some countries are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Arizona |
Only hunters ages 10 through 13 hunting big game. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Arizona residents can complete certification fully online through Hunter-Ed Course or ilearntohunt. Classroom courses of about 16 hours and online courses paired with a field day of about 4 hours are also offered. Hunters 14 and older do not need it. Anyone 9 or older may take the course. Certification from another state meets the requirement. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| Arkansas |
Born after 1968. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free 10-hour instructor-led course, or a self-paced online course ($19.99 to $49.95). The agency page does not say whether online courses need an in-person part. Before certifying: Free Deferred Hunter Education Code for hunters 16 and older, who must hunt under direct supervision of a licensed hunter 21 or older who is certified or born before 1969. Hunters under 16 without certification must also hunt under that supervision. No minimum age to enroll. Other states' certificates are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| California |
Anyone who has not held a California hunting license before. A license from another state or province issued in the last two hunting years also counts. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online course plus a 4-hour follow-up session with an instructor, or a traditional class of at least 10 hours. The online course alone does not give a certificate. The only alternative to the class is an equivalency test at a CDFW regional office, for a fee. No exemptions by age or occupation. No minimum age. Proof of hunter education from any state or province is accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Colorado |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, before applying for or buying a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Only the online test-out, for ages 50 and older and eligible military ($34.95, 90% to pass). Everyone else takes a 10-hour classroom course or an online course plus a 4- to 6-hour in-person conclusion class. Before certifying: Apprentice Hunter Certificate: a free one-year waiver, hunting with a mentor. Classroom and conclusion classes cost up to $10 each; the online course is $34.95. Temporary cards expire Dec. 31 of the year issued. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Connecticut |
Everyone, through a Connecticut CE/FS course, unless you held a Connecticut resident firearms hunting license in the past five years. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: In-person only and free. Certificates from online hunter education are not accepted. Junior hunters 12 to 15 buy a Junior Hunting License, and an adult may supervise no more than two minors. Minimum hunting age is 12. An archery permit needs a separate CE/FS bowhunting course; online and combined firearm and bowhunting courses do not count. Out-of-state certificates are sent by email and verified with the issuing state before they are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Delaware |
Born after Jan. 1, 1967. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online study and exam, or a free live course, followed by a required field day with live firing. Minimum age to take the training is 10. Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Florida |
Born on or after June 1, 1975, to buy a license to hunt with firearms, muzzleloaders, bows or crossbows. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: The agency page links to a course list without describing the formats. Before certifying: Hunter safety mentoring deferral for hunters 16 and older: check the deferral box when buying a license and hunt under supervision of a licensed adult 21 or older who meets the requirement. Law enforcement and military personnel are not exempt. Florida residents in the armed forces stationed outside Florida do not need a license while home on leave for 30 days or less. Other states' cards are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Georgia |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1961, before buying a season license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Approved online-only courses for Georgia residents, or a free classroom course. HUNTINGsmart is free for students under 16 and the NRA course is free for everyone. Before certifying: An Apprentice License or a Short Term license. No course is needed to hunt your own land or a parent's or guardian's land. Hunters 11 and younger do not need the course but must hunt under direct supervision of a licensed adult 18 or older. Ages 12 to 15 need it unless hunting under direct adult supervision. Courses certified by any state or Canadian province are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| Hawaii |
A Hawaii Hunter Education Wallet Card is required to buy a Hawaii hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Classroom courses on the islands, or an online course with a final exam. The card arrives by mail in 1 to 2 weeks. A free letter of exemption replaces the course for holders of another state's card, and for residents born before Jan. 1, 1972 who can show a Hawaii hunting license issued before July 1, 1990. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| Idaho |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, to buy a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Self-paced online course with no field day ($32.50), instructor-led course ($9.75), or a hybrid course in the Southwest Region. Ages 9 and up may take the course. Proof of a previous hunting license or certificate from Idaho or another state meets the requirement. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| Illinois |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1980, unless you can show a prior Illinois hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free instructor-led course of 10 hours or more, or an online course ($29 to $49.95) followed by a free in-person field day of 6 to 8 hours. Before certifying: Apprentice License for first-time hunters. No minimum age; students under 10 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian 16 or older. Certificates are valid for life. Certificates meeting IHEA-USA standards from other states and provinces are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Indiana |
Born after Dec. 31, 1986, before buying a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free classroom course, or an online course for a fee. The agency pages checked do not describe the online format. Before certifying: Apprentice license, up to 3 in a lifetime, accompanied at all times by a licensed hunter 18 or older within close communication. Hunters with a license exemption, such as landowners, need neither the course nor an apprentice license. Youth 17 and under on free youth hunting weekends need no license or certification but must stay close to a licensed adult 18 or older. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Iowa |
Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before buying a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course. Ages 11 to 17 take a classroom course or an online course plus a field day. Before certifying: Apprentice license for hunters 16 and older, up to two times, with a fully licensed mentor in visual and voice contact. Nonresident apprentices may not hunt deer or turkey. Students 11 and older may enroll; certificates earned at 11 become valid on the 12th birthday. Residents under 12 can get a deer or turkey license when hunting with a licensed adult. Courses are usually free. Other states' certificates are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Kansas |
Born on or after July 1, 1957. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults 18 and older can take the free NRA online-only course. Ages 11 and up can take an online course plus a field day of at least 4 hours, or a traditional course of at least 10 hours. Before certifying: Apprentice license for hunters 16 and older, up to two, hunting under supervision of a licensed hunter 18 or older. Hunters 15 and under may hunt without certification under direct supervision of an adult 18 or older. No one under 11 is certified. Apprentice licenses from other states are not valid in Kansas. Other states' certificates are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Kentucky |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: One-day in-person course, with all materials including firearms and ammunition provided at no charge, or an online course followed by an in-person Range Day. Before certifying: Hunter Education Exemption Permit: valid one year, once per person, hunting under supervision of a licensed adult who meets the requirement. Not valid at Blue Grass Army Depot or Fort Campbell. Students must be at least 9 to take the exam, and certification is required at 12. Certifications from all other states are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Louisiana |
Born on or after Sept. 1, 1969, unless hunting under direct supervision of a qualified hunter. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Ages 16 and older can certify fully online ($34.95, $49.95, or free through the NRA). Ages 9 to 15 take the full in-person course or an online course plus a 5-hour field day. Before certifying: Hunting under direct supervision of a qualified hunter, within voice range and direct line of sight. Students under 9 get a one-year voucher and retake the course after turning 9. Ages 9 to 11 must be supervised even when certified. Active or veteran U.S. Armed Forces members and POST-certified officers may apply for a Louisiana-only exemption. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Maine |
Applicants for an adult license to hunt with firearms, unless they held an adult firearms hunting license from any state, province or country issued in 1976 or later. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Students 16 and older can complete the course online ($29.95), with an optional in-person skills session. Traditional in-person courses and a home study option with an 8-hour skills session are also offered. Before certifying: Apprentice license for hunters 16 and older who never held an adult license, up to 5 times, with a supervisor 18 or older in visual and voice contact. Junior course minimum age is 10. Certain active-duty military members stationed abroad and home on leave are exempt. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Maryland |
First-time buyers of a Maryland hunting license need a Certificate of Competency in Firearms and Hunter Safety. Hunters exempt from buying a license still need it. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free multi-day in-person course, or (ages 13 and up) an online course plus a free one-day Field Day Workshop. The online part alone does not certify. Before certifying: Apprenticeship license: once for ages 17 and older; yearly through age 16 after a short online course. A Maryland resident 18 or older with a regular license must stay close enough to take control of the firearm or bow. No minimum hunting age; students under 13 take the in-person course with an adult. Active-duty or honorably discharged military, certain Maryland law enforcement officers and handgun carry permit holders may skip the field day but must still complete the online course. Certifications from all other states are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Massachusetts |
Adults 18 and older buying their first hunting license, unless they held a hunting or sporting license anywhere before 2007. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: The agency page links to a course directory without describing formats. Minors are not required to take it. No one under 12 may hunt. The course is required for the youth turkey hunt program and lets hunters 15 to 17 hunt without direct supervision. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Michigan |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1960, unless you show a previous hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Every option ends with an in-person field day of about 4 hours: traditional course, online course, interactive online course or take-home study. Course and field day cost up to $10 each. Before certifying: Apprentice license for ages 10 and up, for up to two license years, with a mentor 21 or older in unaided visual and verbal contact. Mentored Youth license for hunters 9 and under. Nonresidents with another state's certificate can buy a Michigan license. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Minnesota |
Born after Dec. 31, 1979, to buy a hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults can take an online course with a virtual field day, or a classroom or hybrid class. The DNR page labels this option for adults 16 and older in one place and 18 and older in another. Before certifying: Apprentice hunter validation, two license years in a lifetime, $3.50 a year, hunting in visual and voice contact with a licensed adult. Youth 12 and under may hunt small game with a parent or guardian without a certificate; for turkey the age is 11 and under. A military exemption exists; see the DNR for its terms. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Mississippi |
Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before buying a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Residents 12 and older can complete the full course online ($34.95). Free 10-hour in-person courses for ages 10 and up. Before certifying: Ages 12 to under 16 without a certificate may hunt with a licensed or exempt hunter 21 or older. Duplicate cards cost $3. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Missouri |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1967, to hunt during a firearms season or to act as an adult mentor. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Residents 16 and older can complete the entire program online ($24.95 or $39.95). Ages 11 and up take a knowledge portion (online, free study guide or free class) and an in-person skills session. Before certifying: Apprentice Hunter Authorization for ages 16 and older, hunting with a permitted mentor 18 or older. Hunters 15 and under may hunt with a permitted adult mentor. Exempt: resident landowners hunting their own land and holders of a disability exemption. Other states' certifications are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Montana |
Born after Jan. 1, 1985, to buy or apply for a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course. Ages 12 to 17 take an online course plus a 4-hour field day, or the free in-person course (ages 10 and up). Before certifying: Students 10 and 11 who take the in-person course may hunt as apprentices and are fully certified the year they turn 12. Certificates from other states and Canadian provinces are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Nebraska |
Hunters ages 12 through 29 must carry proof of firearm hunter education (firearm or air gun hunting) or bowhunter education. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Ages 16 and older can certify online ($39.50 or $40). Ages 11 and up can take a free 8-hour classroom course or an online course plus a free Hunt Safe Session. Before certifying: Apprentice Hunter Education Exemption Certificate ($5) for ages 12 to 29, valid through Dec. 31 and renewable once. Hunt with a Nebraska-licensed companion 19 or older; companions 19 to 29 must be certified. Bowhunter education is required to hunt deer, antelope, elk or bighorn sheep with a bow or crossbow. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Nevada |
Born after Jan. 1, 1960. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults 18 and older can certify online. Students under 18 do home study and attend an in-person class with outdoor time. The basic class fee is $5. No minimum age to take the class; students under 18 attend with an adult. Hunters certified in another state need proof from that state. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| New Hampshire |
New hunters, to buy a first hunting or archery license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: In-person course with a field day, or an online course ($29) with an in-person field day and practical exam. Before certifying: Apprentice license for ages 16 and older, once in a lifetime, valid through Dec. 31, with a licensed adult 18 or older within sight and hearing. Students must be 12 by the last day of the course. Classes are open to residents and nonresidents. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| New Jersey |
A completed hunter education course or a resident license from New Jersey or another state, to get a New Jersey license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: The agency course pages could not be read for this guide. Before certifying: Apprentice license for up to two license years, shotgun or archery only, hunting with a mentor. Minimum age is 14 for archery and 18 for firearms. Licenses are issued from age 10. Youth 15 and under get a free youth license after the course; ages 10 to 13 may hunt only with a licensed adult 21 or older. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| New Mexico |
Hunters under 18 may not hunt with a firearm without a certificate, unless enrolled in the Mentored-Youth program. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Hunters 9 and older can earn certification completely online by passing all chapter quizzes and a final exam. A traditional course of 14 to 16 hours and a 6-hour field day course (ages 10 and up) are also offered. Before certifying: Mentored-Youth Hunting Program for hunters under 18. Courses from other states meet the requirement. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| New York |
A hunter education certificate is needed for a first-time hunting, bowhunting or trapping license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free in-person courses, mostly March to September, and online courses. The DEC page says the certificate follows an in-person or online course but does not say whether an online course needs an in-person part. Bowhunter and trapper education are separate courses. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| North Carolina |
Anyone, regardless of age, buying a hunting license needs a hunter education certificate, a hunting heritage apprentice permit, or a North Carolina hunting license issued before July 1, 2013. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free in-person courses, a virtual course, or an online-only course for a fee. Before certifying: Hunting heritage apprentice permit. Youth under 16 need no license; without a certificate they hunt with a licensed adult. No minimum age. A landowner or a person leasing land primarily for cultivation, their spouse and dependents under 18 living with them may hunt that land without a license. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| North Dakota |
Born after 1961, before getting a firearm or bow license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free traditional course of 14 or more hours (turn 11 by year end), or a $24.95 hybrid course with online study and two in-person sessions (turn 12 by year end). Before certifying: Apprentice license. No course needed to hunt only land you own or operate. Youth under 12 may hunt only under direct supervision of a parent, guardian or authorized adult. Courses from other states and Canadian provinces are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Ohio |
Completion of a hunter education course is required to buy an Ohio hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Instructor-led course of 8 to 12 hours, or the Ohio online course ($24.95) or interactive online course ($49.95). Before certifying: Apprentice hunting license before taking the course. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Oklahoma |
Hunters 30 and younger, unless hunting with the apprentice designation. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online courses, including the NRA course and a free option, and in-person classes. Before certifying: Apprentice designation for hunters 30 and under: accompanied by a hunter 18 or older who is certified or exempt, within arm's length for big game and in sight and normal voice range for small game and turkey. Exempt: hunters 31 and older, active duty or honorably discharged U.S. Armed Forces and National Guard members. Children 9 and under may take the course but are not certified. Certificates from other states may be accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Oregon |
All hunters under 18. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Youth take a conventional course of 14 to 16 hours or an approved online course, and both end with an in-person Field Day ($10). Adults are encouraged to take the online course, which other states may require. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Pennsylvania |
All first-time hunters, to buy a Pennsylvania hunting license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: In-person and online courses. Before certifying: Mentored hunting permits for first-time hunters of all ages, hunting with a mentor 21 or older. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Rhode Island |
A previous hunting license or a hunter education card from any state. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free in-person classroom courses, or an online course ($19.95) with in-person testing. Exempt: current or honorably discharged members of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps or Coast Guard. An archery-only license needs a bowhunter course, and hunting with both firearms and archery needs both courses. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| South Carolina |
Born after June 30, 1979, residents and nonresidents. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free 8-hour in-person class, or the approved online course ($29.95, or $49.95 interactive), which gives a 30-day temporary certificate. Before certifying: One-time Apprentice Hunting License, hunting with a South Carolina-licensed hunter 21 or older with no hunting or hunter education violations or deferred adjudications, in uninterrupted, unaided visual and oral contact. Certifications from other states and Canadian provinces are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Fully online |
| South Dakota |
HuntSAFE is required for ages 12 through 15. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Ages 16 and older are certified after the online course ($24.95, $49.95 or free NRA). Under 16, the online course is followed by an in-person field day. Classroom courses are also offered. Students may take the course at 11 and get a card at 12. Bowhunter education is no longer required for archery hunting. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Tennessee |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1969. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online courses from free to $49.95, and in-person courses. Before certifying: Hunters under 10 may hunt with an adult 21 or older. The law also allows a one-time exemption permit valid 12 months, under which hunters 10 and older must be with a licensed adult 21 or older who is certified or exempt and can take immediate control of the hunting device. Minimum age to certify is 9. Exempt: owners and tenants of farmland, their spouses and children, and the owner's grandchildren and great-grandchildren under 16. Tennessee honors certifications from all IHEA members. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Texas |
Born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, including nonresidents. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Hunters 17 and older may take the course in person or online. Certification costs $15. Before certifying: Deferral for hunters 17 and older: $10, once, valid to the end of the license year, and the hunter must be accompanied. Hunters under 17 without certification must be accompanied by a licensed hunter 17 or older, within normal voice control. Minimum age to certify is 9. Exempt: active duty and honorably discharged U.S. armed forces members, certain Texas Guard members and qualifying peace officers. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Utah |
Born after Dec. 31, 1965, to buy a license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Online course followed by a field day. The certificate costs $12 for residents and $17 for nonresidents. No minimum age. Residents certified in another state must transfer the certification to Utah. Nonresidents self-certify when buying and carry proof. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Vermont |
All first-time hunters, bowhunters and trappers, before getting a license of that type. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Vermont residents 18 and older can take hunter and bowhunter education online. Nonresidents and residents under 18 attend an in-person course. All courses are free. Before certifying: Mentor license, for up to two years, hunting with a fully licensed adult. Bowhunters need both hunter education and bowhunter education. Trapper education is in person only. No minimum age for in-person courses; under 16 needs parental consent. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Virginia |
Hunters ages 12 to 15, and anyone who has not bought a regular hunting license before. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: The agency requirements page does not describe course formats. Before certifying: Apprentice license. Hunters under 12 are exempt but must be immediately supervised by a licensed adult. Virginia accepts hunting licenses and hunter education credentials from all states and countries. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Not stated by agency |
| Washington |
Born after Jan. 1, 1972, before a first Washington license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Traditional course of about 15 hours, or a hybrid online module followed by an in-person field skills evaluation. Before certifying: One-year, once-in-a-lifetime deferral for ages 10 and up ($24 processing fee), hunting with a Washington-licensed hunter 18 or older in unaided visual and voice contact. No minimum age. Peace officers and military personnel may qualify to skip the field skills evaluation. Certificates from other states count; an out-of-state license does not. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| West Virginia |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, before buying a base license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Free in-person class of about 12 hours, or an online course followed by an in-person hands-on and written exam. Students who have not turned 10 by the test date do not receive permanent certification. Replacement cards cost $10. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
| Wisconsin |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1973, before buying any license. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Adults 18 and older can take an online-only course. Ages 17 and under take the traditional course or an internet course plus a field day. Before certifying: Mentored Hunting Law: hunt within arm's reach of a qualified mentor. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
Online for some ages |
| Wyoming |
Born on or after Jan. 1, 1966, to hunt with a firearm. Hunters born earlier need it in Grand Teton National Park and the National Elk Refuge. Course, alternatives and sourceCourse: Wyoming has never offered online-only certification. Online course plus a 4- to 6-hour internet completion course (ages 10 and up), or a traditional course. Before certifying: Hunter Education Temporary Exception: free, valid one year, with a mentor 18 or older who is certified and licensed, within sight and voice. Mentees must be 12 to hunt big game. Not valid in elk hunt areas 75 and 79. Exempt: active and honorably discharged military, active or retired Wyoming peace officers. Certificates from every U.S. state, Guam, Puerto Rico, Canadian provinces and Mexican states are accepted. Official source. Verified on Oct. 24, 2026. |
In-person part required |
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a hunter safety course to hunt?
In most states, yes, if you were born after a set date or are buying your first hunting license. 28 states use a birth-date cutoff, 15 require it for a first license, and Arizona, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon and South Dakota require it only for certain ages.
Which state has the oldest birth-date cutoff?
Colorado: born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, before applying for or buying a license. The most recent cutoff is Indiana: born after Dec. 31, 1986, before buying a license.
Can I take hunter safety online?
In 22 states the agency says you can certify fully online, at least at some ages. 16 states require an in-person field day, skills session or class for everyone who needs the course, including Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware and Illinois.
Can I hunt before taking hunter education?
In 35 states there is a way to hunt first, through an apprentice license, a deferral or a mentored program, usually with a licensed adult close by.
Is my hunter education card valid in other states?
Generally yes. State agencies accept hunter education certificates from other states. A few add steps: Connecticut verifies out-of-state certificates, Utah residents must transfer theirs, and Washington accepts another state's certificate but not another state's license.
Are military members exempt from hunter education?
In some states. Alabama, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Texas and Wyoming exempt qualifying military members, and Louisiana offers a Louisiana-only exemption. Florida and Alaska state that military status does not exempt you.
Season dates are on the deer season dates by state page, and deer rifle rules on the straight-wall cartridge states page.
Source: each state's wildlife agency, linked in that state's row. North Carolina's rule comes from the state's official regulations digest on eRegulations, linked from the agency site.
Verified on Oct. 24, 2026.
Rules on ages, fees and course formats change. Check with the state wildlife agency before you sign up for a course or buy a license.